Cancer Institute A national cancer institute
designated cancer center

Soft Tissue Sarcoma Staging

How Stages are Determined

Pathologists determine the specific type of sarcoma you have. They also determine the grade of your tumor. The grade tells your doctor how your cancer may behave or how likely it is to spread to other parts of the body. Sarcomas are graded on a scale from G1 to G3. A low-grade (G1) tumor closely resembles normal cells. A high-grade (G3) tumor may spread more readily to other parts of the body. Medium-grade (G2) tumors are somewhere in between. 

In addition to your tumor's grade, doctors need to determine the stage of your sarcoma. The staging system takes into account the size and location of your original tumor and whether the tumor has spread to nearby lymph nodes or other parts of your body. For sarcomas, the grade is also an important part of the staging system.

Stages of Soft Tissue Sarcoma

These are the American Joint Committee on Cancer stages for soft tissue sarcoma:

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: