Cancer Institute A national cancer institute
designated cancer center

David Spiegel

Honors and Awards

  • In recognition of outstanding and invaluable service to the community., Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition (June 2013)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Lifetime Achievement Award., The International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology (August 20, 2013)
  • 12th Holland Distinguished Leadership Award, The American Psychosocial Oncology Society (February 2014)
  • The Joan and Stanford Alexander Award in Psychiatry honoring Stuart C. Yudofsky,M.D., Baylor College of Medicine (2014)
  • Member, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies (2012)
  • Arthur M Sutherland Award for Lifetime Achievement, International Psycho-Oncology Society (2011)
  • Marmor Award for Advancement of the Biopsychosocial Model in Psychiatry., American Psychiatric Association. The American Psychological Association. (2004)
  • The Division 30 Award for Distinguished Contributions to Professional Hypnosis., The American Psychological Association. (2003)
  • Ernest R. Hilgard Award for Scientific Excellence for 2002., The International Society of Hypnosis. (2003)
  • Distinguished Life Fellow,in recognition of significant contributions to Psychiatry., American Psychiatric Association. (2006)
  • Best Paper on the Application of Hypnosis., American Psychological Association. (2002)
  • Distinguished Achievement Award,the founding editor of the Progress in Psychiatry Series 1986-2002., American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc (2002)
  • Henry Guze Award for Best Research Paper., Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis. (2001)
  • Mc Govern Award Lecturer on the Art and Science of Medicine,, Baylor. (1999)
  • Docteur Honoris Causa., de l'Universite de la Mediterranee (1999)
  • Meritorious Service Award., Northern California Psychiatric Society. (1997)
  • Special Keynote Address Award., American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. (1997)
  • Rockefeller Foundation Visiting Scholar., Bellagio Study and Conference Center. Italy. (1997)
  • Burroughs Wellcome Visiting Professor., Royal Society of Medicine. UK. (1997)
  • The Edward A. Strecker, M. D. Award., The Institute of Pennsylvania Hospital and Jefferson Medical College. (1995)
  • One for the Heart Award., Mid-Peninsula Hospice. (1995)
  • Pierre Janet Writing Award., International Society for the Study of Dissociation. (1994)

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: