Cancer Institute A national cancer institute
designated cancer center

Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma Staging

Microscopic image of bone marrow cells dividingBone marrow cells may be affected in Stage IV Non-Hodgkins lymphoma.

Understanding the Stages of Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma

After non-Hodgkins lymphoma has been diagnosed, tests are done to find out if cancer cells have spread within the lymph system or to other parts of the body.
Staging is the process of determining whether cancer has spread and, if so, how far. It is important to know the stage of the disease in order to plan treatment.

The staging system used most often to describe the spread of non-Hodgkins lymphoma is called the Ann Arbor Staging System. It uses Roman numerals (I-IV) for different stages.

Non-Hodgkins lymphoma stages are also noted by the presence or absence of certain symptoms of the disease:

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: